Home » About Us » Award of Excellence

The International Peat Society Award of Excellence

The IPS Award of Excellence  was launched in 2005 and is annually conferred on a member of the International Peat Society for a distinguished contribution in any sector of peatland activities.

Dr. Line Rochefort Winner of the IPS Award of Excellence 2011!


The IPS Award of Excellence 2011 went to Dr. Line Rochefort of Université Laval, Québec, Canada.

Prof. Rochefort holds a PhD and is a full Professor at the University’s Department of Plant Sciences. In addition, she has been holding the Industrial Research Chair for Peatland Management (Natural Science and Engineering Research, NSERC) since 2003, mainly specializing in peatland restoration. Her scientific activities include restoration ecology, peatlands ecology (fen and bogs), Sphagnum biology, bryophyte ecology, ecosystem experiments, plant-soil interactions in mosses, ecosystem rehabilitation and Sphagnum farming.

She is actively collaborating with the Canadian peat industry for peatland restoration after peat extraction in fens and bogs, for berry and tree production on peatlands, for Sphagnum farming and recently with oil sands companies researching ways to recreate fens after the decommission of sites, and with polymetallic mining companies to restore peatlands-wetlands for their filtration capacities.

Last but not least, Dr. Rochefort works as expert advisor for different levels of government in Canada and within the Canadian provinces where peatlands are involved, including departments of agriculture, forestry, environment, natural resources and transport. For the IPS, Dr. Line Rochefort was Chair of Commission V on “Restoration, rehabilitation and after-use of peatlands” for many years, has organised numerous conferences, symposia and workshops on different peatland matters and had a large share in editing the IPS guide to organising scientific events.

The IPS Award of Excellence was launched in 2005 and comprises of a framed scroll and a cash prize of € 1000. Nominations for the Award can be submitted by all members to the IPS Secretariat by 31 January of each year. The Executive Board of IPS will review the Terms of Reference in autumn to make the application process easier. More information can also be found at www.peatsociety.org/index.php?id=103.

The 2011 Award of Excellence of IPS was handed over at the festive banquet of the Symposium on Responsible Peatland Management and Growing Media Production in Québec on 15 June 2011. Our warmest congratulations!

Call for Nominations 2011

Dear IPS members,

the IPS Secretariat now invites all IPS members to submit their proposals for the International Peat Society Award for Excellence 2011. Your nomination should be sent to the IPS Secretariat by 31 January 2011 (strict deadline) and include:

All proposals will be reviewed by the Scientific Advisory Board and the IPS Secretariat, each of whom will nominate three candidates. The final decision on the Award winner will be made by the IPS Executive Board by simple majority decision. All nominations are in force for the year they are submitted in.   

The Award was launched in 2005 in honour of the late Wim Tonnis (1933-2005), a very committed and active IPS member and former Chairman of the IPS Dutch National Committee who promoted and participated in many important peat projects. In 2008 the Award was renamed and, in 2009, the terms of references adapted to serve a broader range of applicants and to make the decision making process easier. The "International Peat Society Award for Excellence" comprises a framed scroll and a cash prize of € 1,000.

Terms of Reference

For a distinguished contribution in any sector of peatland activities by a member of the International Peat Society. Established by International Peat Society in 2005.

Title of the Award

International Peat Society Award of Excellence

Application Deadline

All application documents, including references and other appendixes, have to be received in a single package by the IPS Secretariat by 31 January of every year. Applications are valid only for the year they are submitted in.


International Peat Society.


A framed scroll and a cash prize of total € 1,000. 


A member of the IPS who has made a distinguished contribution in any sector of peatland activities. 


Nominations can be made by all IPS members. The nomination package to be sent to the IPS Secretariat shall include the following documents.


The Award shall be presented annually at the Annual Assembly of IPS. The recipient will be required to give a brief acceptance speech.

Selection Committee

The award shall be presented annually unless the IPS Executive Board considers that no suitable candidate has been nominated.

/awardtermsofreference2010.doc awardtermsofreference2010.doc 35.00 KB
/awardcvtemplate2010.rtf awardcvtemplate2010.rtf 42.06 KB 

Laureate 2010

The IPS Award of Excellence 2010 was conferred on Mr. Gerald Schmilewski from Germany, who was nominated by the Dutch National Committee of IPS for his long-term commitment to the Society and his many activities, bringing truly science and industry together. The Award was presented during the Annual Assembly of IPS in Jyväskylä in June.

Laureate 2009

The IPS Award of Excellence 2009 was conferred on Dr. Timo Nyrönen from Finland. The official ceremony took place at the Annual Assembly in Belfast, Northern Ireland on 26 April 2009. The Award was handed over to Dr. Nyrönen in Jyväskylä in early June by the the Chair of the Finnish Peatland Society, the IPS Secretary General and Communications Manager.

Laureate 2008

The IPS Award of Excellence - Wim Tonnis Peat Award 2008 was conferred during the IPS Annual Assembly in Tullamore, Ireland at the International Peat Congress 2008 to to Mrs. Riitta Korhonen. IPS expresses its warmest congratulations.

Laureate 2007

The Wim Tonnis Peat Award 2007 was announced on 26 May 2007 on the IPS Annual Assembly in Riga to go to Mr Hartmut Falkenberg. All nominations made will remain in force for next year.

Laureates 2006

The Wim Tonnis Peat Award 2006 was conferred in Hannover, Germany, on 6 May 2006 to Dr. Hans Joosten and Mr. Donal Clarke. All nominations made in March/April 2006 will remain in force until 2008.